Best Publication Award

Applicants must be students or early career scientists (within 2 years from PhD graduation or within 5 years from MSc graduation, if from industry). The awards are presented at the 27th SETAC Europe Annual Meeting in Brussels, Belgium 2017. The article must have been published or accepted for publication in a peer-reviewed journal in the calendar year prior to the meeting. The application must be submitted via email by 31 January 2017.

This award is made available by RifCon and SETAC Europe.

Submit your paper (if more than one paper has been accepted or published in the evaluation period, select the paper you consider to be the best). Only ONE paper per candidate will be accepted. If the article is not published in English, an English translation must accompany the candidate’s application.

The award candidate must be based in a geographical area administered by SETAC Europe (i.e. Europe, Russia, Middle East and Africa).

  1. A copy of the submitted paper with details of the publishing journal and confirmation of acceptance.
  2. Personal information (home address and contact information: telephone number and email address) and a brief curriculum vitae, including date of birth.
  3. Details of the sponsoring institution together with a statement signed by the supervisor confirming that the article submitted for the award has been primarily written by the candidate and that he or she performed main parts of the research reported.
  1. a free registration to the upcoming SETAC Annual Meeting.
  2. prize money up to 1000 Euro made available by RifCon and SETAC Europe
  3. invitation to the Presidents Reception at the SETAC Europe Annual Meeting
  4. certificate

For more information and a list of the past award winners click here.

Noack-Laboratorien Environmental Education Award

The award honors activities in the dissemination of knowledge on environmental sciences. If you know a possible candidate with an outstanding record of interdisciplinary activities related to the distribution of knowledge on environmental sciences who has made substantial contributions to the education in this field, please submit your nomination to Rebecca Bundschuh in the SETAC Europe office or to the attention of Annegaaike Leopold, the chair of the SETAC Europe award committee. The deadline for submissions is 31 January 2017.

The award is made available by Noack-Laboratorien

  • a full curriculum vitae of the candidate, including an e-photograph and a publication list, and
  • a letter of recommendation highlighting the importance of the candidate’s work.

The award recipient should be based in a geographical area administered by SETAC Europe (i.e., Europe, Russia, Middle East and Africa).

For more information and a list of the past award winners click here.

LCA Young Scientist Award

The SETAC Europe LCA Young Scientist Award recognises exceptional achievements by a young scientist in the field of life-cycle assessment, e.g. an extraordinary PhD thesis that provides a significant contribution to LCA development and implementation. This award is dedicated for one researcher or a group. Applications must be submitted before 31 January 2017 by email.

The award will be sponsored by Lenzing AG and Springer-Verlag.


  • Nominee must show a demonstrable outstanding contribution to the field.
  • Nominee should be younger than 35 years.
  • Self nominations or nominations by others are welcome.
  • Applications must be submitted before 31 January 2017 by email to– no applications by post or fax will be accepted
  • A letter outlining the eligibility of the nominee for the award
  • Curriculum vitae of the nominee
  • A supporting letter explaining why the candidate should be considered for the award

The curriculum vitae and letter should be a maximum of six pages. Sufficient information should be provided to facilitate an objective evaluation of the nominees, hence evidence of the attributes of the nominee and the conduct of activities embracing the elements of the award shown above must be provided.

  • Send all files as a single zip file of separate Word documents or as a single .pdf file
  • The application packet must contains all of the requested materials to be considered for an award
  • The title of the documents must include the nominee’s name – last name, first name, name of material
  1. Nominations will be evaluated independently by a sub-committee of the SETAC Europe LCA Steering Committee
  2. The full committee will discuss the outcome to determine the recipient
  3. The successful nominee will be informed of the decision by 6 March 2017
  4. All other applicants will be informed afterwards
From the Springer Verlag

  • A two- year subscription to the online edition of the International Journal of LCA
  • A short presentation (about one printed page) of the award winner in the journal

From Lenzing AG

  • expenses for the SETAC registration fee , travel and accommodation during the meeting

For more information and a list of the past award winners click here.

Young Scientist Award (YSA) for the Best Platform and Best Poster Presentation

The SETAC Europe Young Scientist Awards (YSA) include the best platform and the best poster award. The ECETOC Best Platform Award honours the early career scientist with the best platform presentation at the SETAC Europe Annual Meeting. The Best Poster Award honours the early career scientist with the best poster presentation at the SETAC Europe Annual Meeting.

The two Young Scientist Awards are intended to honour individual prominent performance in scientific work of a MSc student OR a scientist within 3 year from MSc graduation, OR a PhD student. Both award winners are invited to the next Annual Meeting.

To be considered you must be the first AND presenting author of the submitted paper and indicate this on your online abstract submission form by 23 November 2016. ONLY ONE YSA submission per person will be accepted. If you submit multiple abstracts for consideration for the YSA, your abstracts will not be taken into consideration for the YSA.

The platform or poster presentation will be evaluated by 3 senior scientists on the basis of originality of the approach; quality of the work (e.g. appropriate methodology, interpretation of results, conclusiveness); quality of the presentation (e.g. clarity, response to questions); and self-reliance and independence (not one of co-authors, but the most active, if more than one author).